Cancerfighter’s Weblog

Alternative cancer therapies and ideas

Posted by Jonathan Chamberlain on February 11, 2011


There is a lot of cancer related info on this site – do please browse. This supports the info and critical discussion in my books – see www.fightingcancer.com for details.

 

MSM, Lyme disease, Pain relief and Detox

Here are two personal accounts of using MSM

Joan:
I took MSM when I was in my forties. I had no idea that I had lyme. I took just 1/4 tsp a day and had amazing results. It helped with  depression, low blood sugar, varicose veins, skin and hair health,  scar tissue from tendonitis, sensitive teeth, my husband’s acid  reflux, protections from the sun. Eventually, I upped my dosage to 1 tbl per day but I don’t think it was necessary. I upped it when I was  sick, when my body could handle more. Before that, I could tell if I  had too much because I would get a headache and feel pressure behind  my eyes.

MSM goes to the place in the body that needs it the most. That was my personal experience. I would say that anyone with lyme should take small amounts everyday to help with glutathione.  I love MSM!

Lena:

When I first started MSM, I herxed [had a Herxheimer reaction – ed] a lot, and someone in my Lyme
group said that taking MSM was the equivalent of increasing all my other  supps, as MSM made them more accessible to my cells. I backed off a  bit and then carefully built up. Seems to be working well, so  perhaps  at this time just topical use of DMSO is the best way to go for me.  It’s also a great way to deliver things that I’d rather not have  the  digestive tract have to deal with, even though I realize that once  through the skin, DMSO does get around.  With Lyme, everything is a balancing act, with the rules changing  constantly.

I started MSM with just one little 250 mg capsule. 26 hours later the results were dramatic. What I
didn’t know at the time was that the positive results I attributed to  the MSM were incorrect. The pain relief I got at that time was  due to  the detox effect of the MSM, it released vestiges of all the pain meds, caffeine and nicotine I had ingested all of my adult and some  of  my adolescent life. It took 3 months of increasing doses of MSM to  get  all of that out of me and I literally was on a drug high during  that  time.

MSM should not be over-depended on. Massive use of it will  imbalance  the body. It is particularly known to deplete one of the trace minerals –  molybdenum. I think

Leave a Reply

 
