Cancerfighter’s Weblog

Alternative cancer therapies and ideas

Does Citric Acid Cause Cancer or Cure it?

Posted by Jonathan Chamberlain on February 6, 2011


There’s a lot of cancer info on this site – do browse . This complements the info and critical overview of all your options in my two cancer books – see www.fightingcancer.com for details

Does Citric Acid Cause Cancer or Cure it?

I have long been interested in citric acid as a potential cure for cancer since reading of Dr Moerman’s diet – and the first man he gave dietary advice to cured himself of cancer by eating enormous amounts of oranges and lemons. But bizarrely there appears to be some suggestion floating about the internet that citric acid causes cancer. So I went in search for information, in part prompted by a comment by Dr Halabe (see below)

The first thing I found was this statement by an advocate of lemon juice drinking who said this on an internet forum:

“I go through 3lbs of lemons every 3-4 days. i juice the whole lemon…skin, seeds… everything. I mix 3/4 cup with 1.5 liters of distilled water and that’s what I drink during the day and before bed. Lemon water is the first thing in my belly every morning. I have never felt better since I started doing this. Out of nowhere I dropped almost 10lbs and I have remained cold/flu free”

Of course this post has nothing to do with cancer – just the beneficial effects of drinking juice for general health. However, recently I received a message from Dr Halabe on the subject as he had done research. I asked him to give me details and this was his reply:

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you very much for your answer, this is the work that I published:

Hypothesis proved…citric acid (citrate) does improve cancer: a case of a patient suffering from medullary thyroid cancer.
Halabe Bucay A. Medical Hypotheses (Elsevier). 2009 Aug;73(2):271.

Citric acid (citrate) blocks glyclolysis, that´s why it can be used as a cancer tretament, is the hypothesis that I published first:

Halabe Bucay A.

The biological significance of cancer: mitochondria as a cause of cancer and the inhibition of glycolysis with citrate as a cancer treatment.

Med Hypotheses. 2007;69(4):826-8. Epub 2007 Mar 26.PMID: 17368752

All that I am trying to do is very simple: That patients with cancer take citric acid orally, as I recommended: 10 to 15 grams of pure citric acid with each meal (one small table spoon each 8 hours), and antacids like omeprazole or sucralfate.

Today, more than 80 patients with cancer, most of them with terminal cancer, have improved after taking citric acid orally.

Sincerely,

Dr. Alberto Halabe Bucay

Hospital Angeles Lomas

Mexico

But bizarrely there appears to be some suggestion floating about the internet that citric acid causes cancer. Since this makes no scientific sense I went exploring and found that the answer was very simple – as this explanation from the UK Food Guide website demonstrates:

“Citric acid is one of a series of compounds involved in the physiological oxidation of fats, proteins, and carbohydrates to carbon dioxide and water.

This series of chemical reactions, which is central to nearly all metabolic reactions and the source of two-thirds of the food-derived energy in higher organisms was discovered by the German-born British biochemist Sir Hans Adolf Krebs. He actually received the 1953 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine for the discovery, and as well as being known as the tricarboxylic acid cycle (its correct name), it is also known as the citric acid cycle or the Krebs cycle.

Hence, citric acid is fundamental to the Krebs cycle and Krebs is the German word for cancer!”

So, if you have cancer, hit the lemon juice

Postscript:

Dr Halabe reviewed the above post and made these additional comments:

Moerman´s diet includes citric acid as lemon juice, they never mentioned to give pure citric acid to patients with cancer, and they never mentioned the rlationship of mitochondria with cancer…. there are may articles against Moerman´s diet, but, so far, you won´t find an article against mine, I also published this work in Nova Publishers about treatment of cancer with citric acid:

https://www.novapublishers.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=11601

3 pounds of lemon have more or less 3 to 5 grams of citric acid, not enough to fight cancer as I proposed 30 to 40 grams a day for at least 3 months.

Is really easy to buy citric acid, here is one link:

http://www.ehow.com/how_5220124_buy-citric-acid-powder.html

Thanks again.
and, consider me as a friend.

Sincerely,

Alb

 

Note: The Cancer Survivor’s Bible (2012) is now available – see www.fightingcancer.com

“I wish I had read this book before I was diagnosed. My doctor and the cancer charities didn’t tell me any of this.”

erto Halabe Bucay

 

13 Responses to “Does Citric Acid Cause Cancer or Cure it?”

  1. Alberto Halabe Bucay said

    I just published another article about the effectiveness of citric acid as a cancer treatment, the reference is:

    Clinical report: A patient with primary peritoneal mesothelioma that has improved after taking citric acid orally. Bucay AH.
    Clinical Research in Hepatology and Gastroenterology (Elsevier). 2011 Feb 21. [Epub ahead of print]. Thanks.

    PMID: 21345759

  2. [...] Does Citric Acid Cause Cancer or Cure it? « Cancerfighter’s Weblog – There’s a lot of cancer info on this site – do browse . This complements the info and critical overview of all your options in my two cancer books – see http://www.fightingcancer.com for details. Does Citric Acid Cause Cancer or Cure … [...]

  3. Charles said

    Google “Living To Enjoy My Silver” for personal account of how I used lemons to reverse hardening of the arteries caused by excessive milk and ice cream consumption, along with no leafy green vegetables. Lemons did in fact save my life and the medical system made not one cent off my situation.

    • Chris said

      Hi Charles
      I had a pain in my left Calf lower I take 2 lemmons a day one in the morning and last thing at night and I must admit the pain has eased off considerably , the doctor told me to take a third of an asprin a day but that made my arms ache so its lemmons all the way.

      • Charles said

        Could be the potassium in lemons more so than the citric acid is helping. Potassium relaxes/normalizes muscles. For pain relief, try bromelain with plain water on empty stomach. Boxers use it before and after fights to ease soreness and speed recovery. Also consider roll-on DMSO with some aloe vera content.

  4. Jenny said

    I have great amounds of citric acid, while my hubby works at a company wich manufactures citric acid. 98.8% pure. We use it to old motorparts of rust. Lol. I will star using it now. If i can help anybody out, mail me and i will send you some…
    fun4jen@mail.com.

  5. shaad said

    Krebs cycle is named after Hans Krebs, a British biochemist who identified it. It was also named Szent-Györgyi-Krebs cycle (although rare), after Albert Szent-Györgyi de Nagyrápolt who identified fumaric acid and other steps in what would become known as the Krebs cycle.

    The Krebs cycle is the stage of cellular respiration following glycolysis and decarboxylation of pyruvate. The carbon dioxide produced from the complete oxidation of pyruvate is removed from the cell into the blood. The electron and hydrogen carriers, NADH and FADH2, donate these electrons to the electron transport chain to generate ATP via oxidative phosphorylation, the final metabolic pathway of cellular respiration.

  6. Alberto Halabe B. said

    Not even the same Hans Krebs imagined that citric acid would be the cure of cancer, as I published on March, 2007.

    • peter harco said

      Dr. Halabe Bucay: I am wondering why no one has come forward to arrange a small clinical trial with your citrate cure using volunteer cancer patients? If it is only a matter of money let’s work out an estimated cost and ask for donations. As a businessman I would contribute since my family has had a great amount of cancer. By doing even a small informal trial this protocol could get some great publicity if it is truly a cure. Then you would be famous worldwide.
      A quick question: Would it be appropriate to combine Metformin with the citrate since they both work to deprive the tumors from getting glucose I believe, but perhaps by differing methods of action. .Also, thanks for your great effort to fight this terrible disease.
      Best regards, Peter

      • Alberto Halabe B. said

        Thanks Peter, I am sure that many doctors and institutions tested already citric acid (citrate) as a cancer treatment, having excellent results, but they don’t want to recognize that because I have all the copyright….

        Send me a letter to: albertohalabe@hotmail.com

        You can also find information in Twitter: @Cancercuretop

  7. Alberto Halabe B. said

    Thanks Peter, I am sure that many doctors and institutions tested already citric acid (citrate) as a cancer treatment, having excellent results, but they don’t want to recognize that because I have all the copyright….

    Send me a letter to: albertohalabe@hotmail.com

    You can also find information in Twitter: @Cancercuretop

    • peter harco said

      When you say you have the copywrite that does not stop others from using or prescribing citric acid for cancer does it? I have not seen any clinical trials based on citric acid, likely because the cost of these trials is high and there are no rewards to big pharma companies in selling citric acid. But most doctors are ethical and if they knew citric acid could cure their patients, especially children, would they not suggest their patients at least try it? Perhaps the producers of citric acid would be willing to fund a trial since it could increase their sales enormously.

  8. Alberto Halabe B. said

    Peter, read my comments in twitter… You should translate those in spanish to english…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,105 other followers

